English

  1. Look! The boys (to play) football in the yard.                                                                        Look! The boys are playing football in the yard.

They (not to watch) TV very often.                                                                                                    They don’t watch TV very often.
Where is Tom? – He is in the sitting-room. He (to read) a newspaper.                                      Where is Tom? – He is in the sitting-room.   He reads a newspaper. 

                                                   Tom (not to have) breakfast yesterday.                                                                                            Tom doesn’t have breakfast yesterday.
I can’t help you now. I (to make) my bed.                                                                                         I can’t help you now. I am making my bed.
They have a car. They (to buy) it last year.                                                                                    They have a car. They bought it last year.
When she (to finish) her work every day?                                                                                        When she finishes her work every day?
He never (to go) to work on Saturday and Sunday.                                                                    He never goes to work on Saturday and Sunday. 
I usually (to get up) at 8 o’clock, but yesterday I (to get up) at 9.                                                  I usually get up at 8 o’clock, but yesterday I get up at 9.
You (to go) to the country last Sunday.                                                                                              You went to the country last Sunday.

 

2. Complete the sentences. Use the correct form of the verb.

to come, to meet, to have,
to drink, to play, to see,

We usually have dinner at 6 o’clock.
I meet my friends tomorrow.
My father drinks four cups of coffee a day.
He likes football and plays it very often.
Tomorrow I see my grandmother.
On Tuesdays  I come home early, because I have three lessons.

We meet our cousins next Sunday.

 

3. Fill in the prepositions at, in, on, with, in front of, for, down, away.

Tom is in the garden with his friend in London.
My aunt lives at a new house.
He usually has a sandwich and an orange for lunch.
Tom, where were you … 8 o’clock yesterday?
Do you want to play football … lesson?
There is a nice garden … … … our house.
Look, Ann is crying. She can’t climb … the tree.
They laughed and ran … .

 

4. Fill in the articles a, an, the.

We live in a small house.
I have an uncle and two aunts.
London is a very big city.
He likes to work in the garden when he is free.
There was a coin under the tree. It was a gold coin.
Yesterday I bought a jacket. The jacket was very nice.
“What time is it?” – “I don’t know. I don’t have a watch.”
“Where is Ann?” – “She is in a kitchen. She is making a cake.”